Indie with a little Psychedelic Rock and Dreampop on the side, Kubra Commander mixes melodic guitar and spacey synth sounds with lyrical themes that try to make you think.

The band started as a solo project of Bobbi Olvido in 2016, under the name Joint Viral Mood playing solo acoustic sets.

Olvido later changed the name to Kubra Commander in 2017. He started recording songs in the same year as part of a personal goal to try to record music every week and released them via Soundcloud.

He continued to record songs and released the album Vagrant Up under Melt records in September of 2018 with the singles Are you feeling 18, Colourless, Contigo, and Glimmer.

At this time, a full-band was needed for the album release and the frequent gigs that came after. The line-up initially composed of Bobbi Olvido, Mark Abelita (Guitars), Jah Acab (Bass), Patrick Gallito (Guitars), Joey Seno (Synth), and Lomel Popera (Drums).

After the album, the band released their single “On Your Left” on July 2019 and another single, “It’s alright I’m feeling fine” on April 5, 2020 both under Melt Records.

Undertaking on a new opportunity the band signed with Lilystars Records last September 2020, and have released two singles(“The Now” and “Garden Bistro”) under Manila’s finest indie-pop label. They are currently working with producer/sound engineer Jeremy Rigodon on finishing the follow-up album “Rhythm Tourists” for a late 2021 release.

Currently, the band is composed of: Bobbi Olvido (Vocals/Guitars), Joko Nozawa (Guitars), Jah Acab (Bass), Lynel Sucalit (Synth), and Tim Williams (Drums). The band’s influences include Wild Nothing, The Smiths, Johnny Marr, Oasis, The Stone Roses, Tame Impala, MGMT, The Brian Jonestown Massacre, and Pond.